Arts and Crafts!

Check out this page daily for arts and crafts activities for your camper planned out by CK Staff! Supplies should be easy to find around your house or yard!

Grab Bag Signup Week of June 1-5: Coming Soon

Friday 5/29/2020

Thursday 5/28/2020

Wednesday 5/27/2020

Tuesday 5/26/2020

Monday 5/25/2020

Friday 5/22/2020

Thursday 5/21/2020

Wednesday 5/20/2020

Tuesday 5/19/2020

Monday 5/18/2020

Friday 5/15/2020

Thursday 5/14/2020

Wednesday 5/13/2020

Tuesday 5/12/2020

Monday 5/11/2020

Friday 5/8/2020

Thursday 5/7/2020

Wednesday 5/6/2020

Tuesday 5/5/2020

Monday 5/4/2020

Make a Nature Journal! Print and decorate anyway you like! This activity will also be up on the STEEEM page this week as a week long environmental education project!

Friday 5/1/2020

Thursday 4/30/2020

Wednesday 4/29/2020

Tuesday 4/28/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Monday 4/27/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Friday 4/17/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Thursday 4/16/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Wednesday 4/15/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Tuesday 4/14/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Monday 4/13/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Friday 4/10/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Thursday 4/9/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Wednesday 4/8/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Tuesday 4/7/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

Monday 4/6/2020-Supplies in grab bag!

4/3/2020

Use the rainy day-to make tie-dye art! This activity is a Camp Ketcha favorite for all ages because you can do so much with it! For this activity you will need:

  • Coffee filters (if you don’t have these paper will work as well but you have to be more careful)
  • Washable markers
  • Scissors
  • tape, glue, or a stapler
  • googly eyes (optional)
  • Water and paintbrushes (optional)

Have your camper color the coffee filter(s), this can be in a pattern or random scribbles. Once this is finished bring it outside and hold it in the rain! The rain will make the colors bleed on the coffee filter turning it into some pretty cool tie-dye. If you don’t want to go out in the rain the same can be achieved by brushing water on it or spraying it with water. Let the coffee filters dry (at camp we use paper plates and lay them flat). Once your coffee filter is dry there are many things you can do with it! Here are a couple of our favorites:

Jelly Fish:

Choose 1 coffee filter to keep as the body. If you want to make eyes or attach googly eyes they will go on this one. The remaining coffee filters can be cut into spirals to form the tentacles. Fix these to the outside edges in a circle. The finished product is a tie-dye jellyfish that you can hang up and display! Try making a sea of jellyfish to hang from the ceiling!

Sun Catcher: 

Instead of cutting up any coffee filters try hanging them in your window for a sunny day! You can add silhouettes to your sun catcher for contrast against your tie-dye background or cut it up like a snowflake!

4/2/2020

Make your own color wheel! The weather may be dreary for the end of the week but that doesn’t mean you can’t find some rainbows! For today’s art project we challenge you to make a color wheel out of items found in your home. They can be random objects you find in your house or objects that fit a theme. Take a look at the color wheel below and find inspiration from our examples! Send us your color wheel on social media or by email to klarochelle@campketcha.org!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4/1/2020

3/31/2020

3/30/2020

3/27/2020

Summary:

Blind contour drawing is an excellent way to train the eye to draw what it really sees rather than what it thinks it sees. *Take this activity a step further today and bring your art outside! Choose to draw things you see in nature around your house*

Objectives:

When making a blind contour drawing, the eye is not watching the hand as it draws on the paper.

Blind contour drawing is an excellent way to train the eye to draw what it really sees rather than what it thinks it sees.

The first contour drawings you do will look, well, funny. However, with practice, you will find that you will be able to accurately record an image on paper without looking at your hand as it draws!

It is a great warm-up drawing activity for any age group.

What You Need:

  • Pencils
  • Paper
  • Everyday Objects (shoes, plants, desks, pencils, people, etc.)

What You Do:

  1. Choose an object to draw (a door, a book, shoes, window, plant etc.).
  2. Pick a point on the object where the eye can begin its slow journey around the contour or edge of the object. Remember, the eye is like a snail, barely crawling as it begins its journey.
  3. When the eye begins to move, so should the hand holding the pencil. At no time should you look at your hand as it draws. Try drawing the entire contour of the object without lifting your pencil form the paper.
  4. Practice this drawing method often and you will find your drawings looking more and more like what you are looking at.
  5. If you are feeling adventurous, poke your pencil through a paper plate before you draw … that way there is no possible way for you to see what you are drawing! Try it. And remember … don’t panic if your drawing of a shoe looks more like a squashed beetle. Relax and keep it fun.
  6. Practice, practice, practice. That’s how the real artists do it.

3/26/2020

-Shadow Sidewalk Chalk Art

SIDEWALK CHALK ART SUPPLIES

  • Sunny Day
  • Open space with no shadows and no clouds overhead. Driveways, parking lots, and playgrounds work well.
  • Recycled chalk paint – Making recycled chalk paint is another great way for kids to explore science!
  • sidewalk chalk
  • Paintbrushes
  • Camera (optional)

Shadow art outdoor science is a hands-on STEAM activity that will help children learn about shadow science and that shadows are formed when an object blocks light.

In this art and science activity, ask children to use their bodies, and other objects, to block the light of the sun in order to create a shadow.

Next, invite the kids to paint their shadows to create shadow sidewalk chalk art. 

We recommend tracing shadows at different times throughout the day in order to experiment and create shadows art of different shapes and sizes.

3/25/2020

3/24/2020

*SPECIAL SNOWDAY ACTIVITY* Snow painting! This is a great activity to do because you can use almost anything for it! Here at Camp Ketcha we use chalk powder mixed with water but you can use food coloring, paint, ink, anything that has a pigment. Experiment with different ways to paint the fresh white snow with the mixture you’ve created! Spray bottles, squirt bottles, paint brushes, get creative! Examples below:

3/20/2020

Make a nature mandala inspired by artist James Brunt https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2018/02/james-brunt-cairns-and-mandalas/

3/19/2020

site by iKnow